Earlham Planning & Zoning Commission Meeting Minutes
Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Meeting called to order by commission chair Chris Swalla at 7:02 PM. Commission members Chris Swalla, Sandy Speedling, Shannon Flickinger, Jeff Luke, John Christensen and Bill Harger answered the roll. Jeremy Rounds of SICOG, Doyle Scott of Madison County Development Group, Sam Braland, City Attorney, City Clerk Linette Crouch, Public Works Employees Gary Coffman and Adam Gordon, and Council Members Jeff Lillie, Dale McNair, Jamie Royster and Heather Stancil were also present.

Shannon moved, seconded by John to approve the agenda. All voted aye. Motion passed. Sandy moved, seconded by Chris to approve the minutes of the July 20, 2011 meeting. All voted aye, motion passed.

Those in attendance discussed the motives for annexation, procedures, estimated tax revenue to be generated, what businesses we would like to attract, and what Earlham has to offer. Chris and Doyle agreed to contact the railroad about what is needed for a spur line. The city will contact Jeff Nicholl from Madison County to discuss the option/cost of a 28E to have the county continue to provide road maintenance. The implications of private septic systems were discussed. Jeremy is to provide state annexation regulations and considerations.

The next meeting was scheduled for 6:00 PM, Wednesday, June 27, 2012.

At 8:28 PM John moved, seconded by Shannon to adjourn the meeting. All voted aye. Motion passed.

Posted as unapproved minutes by Linette Crouch, City Clerk/Treasurer.